top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKate

Full Moon Water

Updated: Sep 30, 2023

A full moon is upon us, y'all!


Tonight, September 29, 2023 we can expect the last Super Moon of the year, the Harvest Moon. A Super Moon is a full moon that occurs when the moon is closest to Earth in its orbit and during this time the moon can appear slightly bigger and brighter. It’s also the perfect time to make a batch of Moon Water. ***


I am not at all a religious person, nor am I at all particularly spiritual (although I cannot stop watching Paranormal Caught on Camera and Terror in the Woods on Travel Channel with a semi-believing eye LOL) but a couple of years ago I came across a recipe Full Moon Water and my curiosity was piqued.


What is Moon Water? How do you make it? What is it used for?


Here’s what I learned:


Essentially, Moon Water is water that has been left outside overnight to charge under the light of a full moon.


For centuries the energy of the moon has been said to help with our spiritual and emotional healing or transformation. Lunar energy, it’s believed, can calm and soothe the body, reduce inflammation and reset imbalances, and can alleviate symptoms of stress and anxiety. The energy harnessed from a full moon, specifically, is believed to help with letting go of negative emotions and things that keep us from reaching our fullest potential.


I also learned that water is energetically absorbent and receptive to the healing powers of the moon. Left out overnight to charge in the light of the full moon, Moon Water isn’t simply water that has been illuminated by the moon… its water that has been infused with the magical energy of the moon!


And you can use Moon Water for so many things! Bathing in moon water can help with feeling connected to your intuition and free of negative energy. Add it to your next bath for intense relaxation and clarity. Or use it as a face mist throughout the day for a refresh. You might cook with it, or add some to your tea or coffee, as it is said that it can help with feeling grounded and physically nourished. To revitalize your house plants, spritz them with a bit of your potion. Mist your bedsheets with Moon Water for a calming, deep sleep. Add a few drops to your cleaning solutions or dish soap to wash away negative energy.


Being in a healing period in my life these days (and forever intrigued by magic and mystery) I've lately been making monthly batches of Moon Water. I don’t know that I really believe my Moon Water concoctions to be real magic potions with healing powers so much as I know that I enjoy the ceremony of making it and having it around the house.


And Moon Water is so wonderfully easy to make. Here's how:


- Fill a clear glass container with purified filtered water. This can be a bowl, jar, or bottle. Avoid plastic!


- Add herbs or flowers to your Moon Water that align with your intentions! Some ingredients that I like to add are things that I usually have on hand at home. Fresh herbs like basil for prosperity or mint for energy. (Both are herbs that I have growing in my kitchen!) Sometimes I like to add rose petals for beauty or dried lavender for relaxation. Citrus peels for happiness. Sea salt for its cleansing properties.


- Place the container in the moonlight. This can be on a windowsill or at a clear area outside.


- Collect your Moon Water in the morning.



***Moon Water is typically made during a full moon, when the moon shines brightest, but it can be made during any of the moon’s phases.

78 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page